Dinner w/o 9/23:

Sunday – out 

Monday–
Cashew chicken curry (make this if you haven’t, I am telling you!)  we use chicken thighs and breasts http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Chicken-Curry-with-Cashews-231358
Naan Indian Bread (frozen from Trader Joe’s)
Steamed rice
Roasted veggies

Tuesday –
Pan-Seared Scallops with Corn-Bacon Hash http://www.dinneralovestory.com/its-just-a-scallop/

Wednesday –
Chicken lettuce wraps http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2009/10/healthy-lettuce-wraps.html
Sautéed asparagus and shitake mushrooms
steamed brown rice

Thursday –  out

Friday
Pea Pesto Linguini with Tomatoes – thanks, Kari  (the below is in her words)
**I made a pea puree for the first time about a month ago, it’s one of my new favorite finds. I used it in pasta tonight, but I have used it under shrimp and fish dishes….would be good under chicken too.  linguini, tossed it with pea puree and a bit of reserved water from the pasta. The baby heirloom tomatoes I sautéed in a pan with a bit of olive oil and s&p. I put shaved pecorino Romano and fresh basil over the top….would also be good with red pepper flakes for some spice.

Pea Puree
1 bag frozen peas – room temperature
1 cube TJ’s chopped garlic
Juice of I lime
Fresh basil chopped
s&p

Blend all ingredients….I add a little olive oil and warm water until I get to my desired consistency. You can definitely mix this up……I have added a whole avocado to the mixture,you can substitute arugula instead of basil.  There is a lot of room to change this up!

Saturday – friends over
Grilled salmon caught by Bob– with fresh herbs
Tomato, burrata, basil salad
Ciabatta garlic bread or grilled bread on the BBQ http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/garlic-bread-recipe/index.html
Quinoa
salad
Cook 2 C of quinoa per directions (I find making it in a rice cooker is fluffiest and I also sometimes use chicken broth instead of water)
2 green onions, chopped
A handful of cilantro, chopped
1/2 yellow pepper, chopped
1/2 C grape tomatoes quartered
1/2 English cucumber, chopped
Add all the veggies in a bowl and squeeze the juice of 1/2 a lemon on everything. Add salt and pepper to taste (I go a little heavier since the quinoa is very bland).
Mix the quinoa into the veggie mixture and gently toss. Top with feta or goat cheese crumbles.

Leave a Reply

