Dinners w/o 9/16:

I have to say these past couple weeks of jumping from 1 to 3 kids in elementary school has been a learning experience in itself.  The activities, homework, sports, meltdowns, tests, making lunches and putting clothes out each night have been exhausting.  Up until this week I had Fridays off from work to have some time to myself, grocery shop, meet up with friends and work out.  But after the first couple weeks of school – I felt the need to forego that day off to be able to get home when the kids are home and be able to help them with homework, prep dinner and get organized.  Thankfully my client was on board and I am eternally grateful.  Today is day 2 of being home in the late afternoons and so far so good – ask me again in a month but as of now I am feeling good about my decision.

This week I asked each kid to choose a dinner and then they would help prep and cook it.   They are having fun with it… ask me in a month if they still are into it.

Sunday

Sunday afternoon I went to see Ina Garten speak in Seattle – she was as wonderful live as she is on her show so I thought I would make her salmon my family loves.

Ina’s Asian salmon http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/asian-grilled-salmon-recipe/index.html

Steamed white rice

Cabbage with hot sauce  http://orangette.blogspot.com/2009/01/best-we-can-hope-for.html

Grilled baby broccolini that was tossed in olive oil, garlic s&p

 

Monday–   Colby’s choice – a bit random 🙂

“Beer chicken” (his words) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/the-surreal-gourmet/beer-can-chicken-recipe/index.html

Steamed edamame

Yellow, orange and red peppers sliced

Steamed rice

Tuesday –  Olivia’s choice – also interesting…

Rack of lamb (cut into chops and marinated for 30 minutes in olive oil, chopped garlic, s/p then grilled on the BBQ – 3 minutes each side)

Broiled hot dog buns – open up the bun, spread a little butter, broil until golden

Steamed broccoli (the short kind, mom! Not broccolini!)

Wednesday –  Ella’s choice –most normal

Steak tacos and all the fixings.  We usually just season the flank steak with s/p, cumin and a little chili powder – grill on the BBQ then slice

 

Thursday –

out

 

Friday

Nordstrom Café tomato soup with little grilled cheese sandwich squares  http://community.tasteofhome.com/community_forums/f/30/t/640367.aspx  (making a batch and freezing the rest)

Green salad

Saturday

Homemade pizza (using Zeek’s fresh pizza dough from the restaurant – $4 for a large if anyone is interested and it’s great)

One response to “Dinners w/o 9/16:

  1. I am not sure it is a good thing that my grandson wants “beer chicken” but I know it is good!

Leave a Reply

