Dinners w/o 5/1:

Hey everyone –

Wanted to give you a heads up that this will be my last consistent weekly email/blog post through the end of summer. I think it’s been almost 2 years of sending out a weekly email and year of the blog! I found out a couple weeks ago that I have an early stage of (curable!) breast cancer so not exactly sure how I will be feeling about meal planning and cooking. I will send out emails and updating the blog when I feel good – which will hopefully be the majority of the time.

For those of you under 40 and do not get yearly mammograms, please start now! You don’t always feel a lump and there are times when things aren’t caught in your yearly exam. If you are in the Seattle area, I highly recommend BBIC http://bbic.com/  – the team there is great.

Michele

Sunday –
Turkey burgers with goat cheese and red pepper relish (I don’t use any of the lemon zest/juice)
http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/printerfriendly/GOAT-CHEESE-STUFFED-TURKEY-BURGERS-WITH-ROASTED-RED-PEPPER-RELISH-2279
Simple green salad

Monday–
Skirt steak salad (I use flank steak instead) with blue cheese http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/09/skirt-steak-salad-with-arugula-and-blue-cheese/
Grilled ciabatta bread (cut into 1 inch slices, brush both sides with olive oil then sprinkle with salt and pepper– put directly on the BBQ and turn after 1-2 minutes)

Tuesday –Michele out
Bob making breakfast for dinner for kids

Wednesday –
Bucatini with Sausage and Peas – Sting and Trudie’s favorite recipe their chef in Tuscany makes for them!!! hahaha (thanks, Carol!) http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/bucatini-with-sausage-and-peas

Thursday –
Roasted shrimp and broccoli http://www.amateurgourmet.com/2009/02/roasted_shrimp.html
Brown rice

Friday –
Make your own pizza night
Homemade pizza (using Zeek’s fresh pizza dough) sauce from Trader Joe’s, turkey pepperoni and whatever veggies we have in the fridge. Everyone makes their own then cook at 400 degrees on a greased cookie sheet until golden

Saturday –
Mother’s Day Dinner with family – TBD

5 responses to “Dinners w/o 5/1:

  1. Michelle – I realize you don’t know me, but I am a faithful reader and I wanted to say how much I enjoy your postings. Your meal plans have saved my butt on more than one occasion and helped me to get my own life and household in order. I couldn’t be more grateful.

    I am so sorry to hear about your diagnosis and will be hoping the very best for you. Please make taking care of yourself and spending quality time with your family a priority and don’t worry about your readers…we’ll all be cheering you on from the sidelines whether you are posting or not!

  2. Like the last comment, I love your blog and recipe choices. So sorry to hear of your diagnosis and know that I am sending thoughts and blessings your way!

  3. Michelle,
    I’m so happy that you found this early on and you are in one of the best places in the world for amazing treatment. Sending you my best, healing thoughts, and I look forward to your strong recovery.
    Karen

  4. Take care Michelle – My thoughts are with you for a speedy recovery. xo

  5. I made the shrimp with broccoli this week and it was AMAZING!!! So easy and sooo good. One of my new fav recipes.

Leave a Reply

