Dinners w/o 3/6:

Hey everyone – few things to talk about this week:

#1 I love seeing all the comments on the blog from people I don’t even know. Here was one that was so sweet that just arrived today. I think her question is a good one and once I try a new recipe out I will follow up the next week with a simple “thumbs up” or “thumbs down” based on my families taste.
“I don’t know how I stumbled onto your blog, but I love it. I’m a working mom who tries to make dinner every night, and you really inspire me. One thought – would you ever consider doing reviews of the recipes you cook? Maybe just the new ones? I was just looking at the peanut chicken recipe, and thought that I would love to know how it turned out. I’m sure I sound completely ungrateful for all the work you put out there each week, but thought I would throw it out there!”

#2 Soup Swap News! Last weekend the soup swap took place and it went great! We all showed up with our lattes on Sunday morning and brought our soup to contribute, told a bit about what we brought and then swapped. Some soups have already been tried with rave reviews – I think next time we may do a pasta sauce swap! While we were swapping my husband pulled out the flip camera and took some footage – here it is – nerdy, unedited, coupled with bad picture, kids screaming and horrible sound quality. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGbDLPjfw9A  

Here is what was brought:

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple & Lentil: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Sweet-Potato-Carrot-Apple-and-Red-Lentil-Soup/Detail.aspx
Turkey Chili: see recipe below
White Bean and Roasted Turkey (I used roasted chicken): http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=10000001545785 
Cheddar Corn Chowder: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/cheddar-corn-chowder-recipe/index.html
Italian Vegetable Soup: http://orangette.blogspot.com/2005/01/on-industry-indolence-and-italian.html
Avgolemono: http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2009/03/greek-themed-dinner.html
Taco Soup: Recipe coming

Dinners w/o 3/6:

Sunday –
Turkey burgers with goat cheese and red pepper relish (I use less than ½ of the lemon zest/juice) Even though some people don’t BBQ in the winter – I do!!
Kids get regular turkey burgers – no lemon, goat cheese
http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/printerfriendly/GOAT-CHEESE-STUFFED-TURKEY-BURGERS-WITH-ROASTED-RED-PEPPER-RELISH-2279

Ice cream sandwiches

Make peanut butter cookies, freeze them so they get hard, take them out, little scoop of ice cream smashed between 2 cookies and back in the freezer until ready to be served. I have been doing this when we have dinner guests over – so easy and no serving dishes necessary!

Monday–
Avogelemo soup (in my freezer from the swap) http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2009/03/greek-themed-dinner.html
Greek panzanella salad (so yummy) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/greek-panzanella-recipe/index.html  

Tuesday –
New recipe (haven’t tried this yet)
Tagliatelle with brussel sprouts http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2011/03/meatless-night-tagliatelle-with.html  

Wednesday –
New recipe (haven’t tried this yet)
Sausage, bean and kale stew- http://www.dinneralovestory.com/a-winning-weeknight-dinner/  

Thursday –
Turkey chili (from swap – recipe below)
Trader Joe’s cornbread
Simple green salad

Amy Beth’s Turkey Chili Recipe
This recipe can be done on the stove or in a slow cooker- it’s up to you!

Ingredients
1- 20 oz. package ground turkey
1 yellow onion chopped
2 cans kidney beans
2 cans black beans
2 cans stewed chopped tomatoes
2-3 cans crushed tomatoes*
1 tbs. vegetable oil
1 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. cayenne pepper
1 tbs. chili powder
1 packet chili seasoning

Directions
In a skillet over medium heat, add oil, garlic, pepper, cayenne, chili powder and onions to pan and sauté for several minutes. Then add turkey. Cook until evenly brown, drain. Put back in skillet and mix with chili seasoning.

In a large stockpot (or slow cooker) on low heat, add beans, chopped, and crushed tomatoes, and turkey and mix it altogether. *Depending on desired consistency, add more crushed tomatoes
Cover with lid and let simmer at least 20 minutes (but can be longer).

Garnish is the fun part- To serve, put out some options in a parted dish, ideas: Shredded cheese, sliced avocado, chopped green onions, sour cream, salsa. Tapatio is also a favorite at my house with this.

Friday –
Tango Mango Salmon (Terra’s recipe from years ago!)
This serves 6-8 people so half recipe if necessary.

Salsa-(serve on top of salmon)
3/4 c Red bell pepper – chopped
1/4 c Red Onion-chopped
1/4c Cucumber-chopped
2 tsp Ginger-grated
1/4c Lime juice
2 mangos chopped
2 tsp Serrano chilies -seeded and chopped
2 tsp Lime peel – grated
4 lb Salmon Filets

Salmon Brine-
1/4c Brown sugar
1/4c lime juice
2 tsp lime peel-grated
1/4c salt

Cook-
In a 1 gallon baggie mix salmon and brine for 30 mins. Rinse fish. BBQ as desired.

Saturday – dinner at friends

One response to “Dinners w/o 3/6:

  1. Michele – you amaze me! I do not know how you do it. Maybe I’ll become inspired to be half as organized as you! I think I am going to be addicted to your blog site, thank you so much for sending my way. So nice to connect with you again. Amie

Leave a Reply

