Dinners w/o 2/27:

Tomorrow is the soup swap I am hosting– next week I will report with pictures as well as all the recipes of the soups people brought.

Sunday –
Fresh mozzarella, basil, tomato salad drizzled with olive oil, salt/pepper
Lagana pasta (can’t wait to test this fresh pasta out – got the seashells) http://ethanstowellrestaurants.com/lagana/  with bolognese sauce http://whatsonmyplate.net/2010/12/16/weeknight-bolognese/  

Monday–
Easy Sole Meuniere (I use ½ the butter it calls for) http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/easy-sole-meuniere-recipe/index.html
Cannellini beans (canned white beans) w/ rosemary & olive oil
1. 1-2 teaspoons of olive oil in a sauté pan w/ a whole rosemary sprig (from the garden) – heat for 2 minutes
2. then add cannellini beans that have been washed/strained and warm for 3-5 minutes
3. then sprinkle with s/p and take sprig out– I am addicted. Don’t over warm the beans or they will be mushy!
Cous cous

Tuesday –
NEW RECIPE – Haven’t tested!
Crock pot chicken with peanut sauce
1.5-2lbs pork tenderloin (or skinless chicken breast or thighs)
1 onion, sliced in rings
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons white wine vinegar
3 tablespoons water
2 garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
2 tablespoons chopped peanuts (garnish; optional)
1 lime, cut in wedges (garnish; optional)

Directions.
Use a 4-6 quart crockpot. Put onion slices into the bottom of your crockpot. Put the pork on top. Add brown sugar, soy sauce, vinegar, water, garlic, and peanut butter. No need to stir–the peanut butter needs to melt before you can do so. Cover and cook on low for 8 hours, or on high for 4-6. The pork will be more tender the longer you cook it. 1 hour before serving, flip the meat over in the crockpot to allow the other side to soak up the peanutbuttery goodness. Garnish with chopped peanuts, and serve with lime wedges. The lime juice mixed with the peanut butter is delicious.

Wednesday –
Cobb salad http://www.dinneralovestory.com/easter-egg-cobb-salad/
Cobb salad deconstructed for kids – my kids won’t eat a cobb salad but they will eat all the makings of a cobb salad. Before throwing everything together for the adults – put all the makings on a platter for the kids (chicken, egg, bacon, lettuce, tomato etc) and let them make their own meal. Works great and they love it!

Thursday – Book Club at my place
14 of my girls friends have been religiously getting together for BC (book club) for over 13 years now, We get together about every month at one of our homes. Who ever hosts BC gets to choose the menu and the book. Sometimes we discuss the book, sometimes we don’t. Sometimes everyone reads the book, sometimes none do – anything goes! It’s a super casual low key event accompanied by good wine, food and genuine friendships. The book I chose for this month is “A Homemade Life” by Wizenberg and am making the salad out of her cookbook.

BC Menu:
Fennel salad with pear and parmesan (from the BC book) http://www.seattlepi.com/food/401312_orangette25.html
Roman chicken – great to make for a large group. You can make the day before and reheat http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/roman-style-chicken-recipe/index.html  (I use chicken tenders) I usually server over rice or pasta.

Friday –
Chicken lettuce wraps (so good – make them if you haven’t tried it yet!) http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2009/10/healthy-lettuce-wraps.html
Asparagus with soy and butter -(I know asparagus is not in seasons but my daughter is begging for it) http://overcocktails.blogspot.com/2009/04/asparagus-has-arrived.html
Cabbage with hot sauce http://orangette.blogspot.com/2009/01/best-we-can-hope-for.html  

Saturday – Out with friends

5 responses to “Dinners w/o 2/27:

  1. I don’t know how I stumbled onto your blog, but I love it. I’m a working mom who tries to make dinner every night, and you really inspire me. One thought – would you ever consider doing reviews of the recipes you cook? Maybe just the new ones? I was just looking at the peanut chicken recipe, and thought that I would love to know how it turned out. I’m sure I sound completely ungrateful for all the work you put out there each week, but thought I would throw it out there!

    • Hi Sarah – Thanks for your email and great idea about doing a simple thumbs up or down on something new I have tried. I will do that moving forward. As for the crock pot peanut sauce recipe I would say “thumbs down” 😦

  2. Pingback: Menu March 6-12 « Plath’s Adventures

  3. Lisa just turned me on to your blog – love it!! I’ve made the Roman chicken many times – you’re right, it’s great for a crowd.

    What didn’t you like about the peanut chicken? It sounds delicious!

  4. Pingback: Crock Pot Chicken with Peanut Sauce – A Shared Recipe | A Mom Inspired

Leave a Reply

